Two wrongs don’t make a right

Just got back from my long run for the week (10k) and have decided that the Gaffney Street “hill” is out of bounds.

The “hill” is about 200m long, but rises something like 60m.

I figure that if I start and finish my run in roughly the same place the hills (up and down) balance out. You get the negative split going up and the positive going down. Well that’s the case normally, but the “hill” is no ordinary hill.

The first three km’s of my run were uphill and into a sort of crosswind, then I had about 3 with a bit of breeze. By the time I hit the “hill” I’d completed 8 hard kms.

I couldn’t even jog slowly down the “hill”, I had to walk. It’s too steep. So now I’m not going to go either way.

The only real downside to the walking of the “hill” was soon to appear. At the bottom of the “hill” is Pascoe Vale train station. Thirty meters from the crossing the lights and bells go off, so I do a quick detour up a side street for about 150m and double back. By this time, the train had departed, but the lights and bells were still on, another train coming in the opposite direction. Go on my detour again, by the time I return for a 3rd time, a “V line” express (Country Victoria train) is approaching, so I decided to wait for what seemed an eternity.

Completed 10k in 52:41 which is over a minute faster than previous best, so happy with that, but I still hate running into the wind, I feel I’m jumping up and down in the one spot – I’m slow enough, the wind is not something I need.

Tomorrow is my easy day, so Harry and I are doing a 4k together, before I go off alone for another 3 or 4.

About offthelongrun

Born in the UK in 1961 - I migrated to Australia in 1991. I've never been overweight, but I drink and eat too much and probably run too much nowadays!
This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Two wrongs don’t make a right

  1. Andrew(AJH) says:

    I reckon running down hills is worse for my joints than going up. You’ll have to try the Puffing Billy run – 13ish kms up and down the Dandenongs. I’ve done it twice, tough gig, but probably one of my favourites.

  2. I agree about the hills. Puffing Billy – I’ve seen the elevations and they do not look kind!

  3. Scarlett says:

    Congrats on the timing! You managed to get a PB even with that hill- which tells me you shouldn’t run around it but conquer it 😉 But that’s my hero side talking.

  4. Thanks Scarlett, but you know the hill, it’s a killer to run up and a knee breaker to run down – I feel it serves me no purpose – when you’re next in the area, call me and we can run it together – both up and down!

Leave a Reply

