8k run and “Reds” retired

Missed a days running yesterday and needed to massage my training schedule for this week.

Wednesday was a 6.5k run – missed

Thursday (today) was a 40minute run – did today

Friday was a rest day – will do the 6.5k instead

I have two sets of runners at the moment – Brooks Trance 9’s Red and Blue. The reds I’ve had for 8 months and the blues for 4 weeks. I thought I could get a few more k’s out of the reds but I found out tonight that they now lack the cushioning and support that they used to. I was only about 2k into my run tonight when my knees started to feel the pounding of the pavement and by the 6th k I had made up my mind to retire them. They are still a supremely comfortable shoe for walking or gym work but not for running.

Run tonight was very windy and I didn’t have the best of both worlds – wind in my face and at my back. I ran the exact same course that I did on 10th July and bettered my time by over 2 minutes:

About offthelongrun

Born in the UK in 1961 - I migrated to Australia in 1991. I've never been overweight, but I drink and eat too much and probably run too much nowadays!
This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 8k run and “Reds” retired

  1. Andrew says:

    Do you rotate two pairs of shoes? If running consecutive days that is recommended especially for longer distances as the cushioning takes 24-48 hours to decompress.

  2. No! but will do with a new purchase.
    Had the reds for a while before I started running and tried to get a bit more out of them.
    Haven’t worn them (reds) for over a week, so I guess it’s not the cushioning. Are you suggesting I run longer distances? lol I feel like a real runner now!

  3. Scarlett says:

    Yeah I think I might need new shoes, but I wear my shoes everywhere unfortunately which is a bad habit- I should just put them aside for running only!

  4. Hi Scarlett – you and me both – I think I was kidding myself if I thought I could get extra wear out of the “reds” – I almost lived in them for 6 months!

  5. worldofjames says:

    I think we need you to try those new runners out with a three mile a day challenge… perhaps for a year?

Leave a Reply

