Intervals – 7 x 400m

After a rest day yesterday, I’m persevering with the intervals despite the fact that I don’t enjoy them. I couldn’t even complete the first one and had to walk the last 50 metres, although when I downloaded the data I realised why: I went out far too quick.

As you can see I was all over the place this morning, probably due in part to no planning but also of my negative thought to the activity – can’t wait till tomorrow when I can ‘just” run.

I now have 4 weeks (once a week) of 8 x 400m followed by 2 weeks of 6 x 400m then the Melbourne marathon (10k) – each 400m interval is followed by another 400m walk/jog.

My overall time per k is better than the previous 2 weeks, but the sprint legs were slower. The former is due to my jogging for much of the walk/jog interval, so I’m not sure if I’m making progress or not. Going to tough it out until MM and then reevaluate their worth for my next training regime.

Chelle’s 4th week planner see’s her up the run part of her workout to 7/8/9 minutes for M/W/F which equates to about 1k. Yesterday she completed her first ever km without stopping – that’s quite an achievement!

Signed both Harry and Chelle up for the Sri Chimnoy (Maribyrnong) 4k this week although there seems to be some ambiguity over the dates – the website states: 17th October, but my receipt says 14th November – have emailed them and am waiting for a response.

About offthelongrun

Born in the UK in 1961 - I migrated to Australia in 1991. I've never been overweight, but I drink and eat too much and probably run too much nowadays!
This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Intervals – 7 x 400m

  1. Andrew says:

    Which Sri chinmoy is it (ie what location?)

  2. Maribyrnong – sent them another email today

Leave a Reply

