Like father like son?

As promised 2 days ago, Harry and I went on my easy run this morning. I’d mapped our run out to be around home at the 3k mark where Harry could stop if he wished and I could continue my run.

We ran the first 2 k’s at around 7minute k’s and he seemed to be cruising and could hold a conversation quite easily. I imparted my lifetime (3 months!) of running knowledge onto him in those first 2 k’s – like pacing yourself and conserving energy for the hills and the finish, try to enjoy it and the surroundings and what running does for the mind and body. He’s 8, so I’m not sure how much he obsorbed.

I miscalculated the distance and we had to overrun the house by a bit to get to 2.8k – last 800m at 6min/k and the last 300m at 5.20min/k.

He never complained once, never stopped and was only breathing heavily at the end after the sprint. Harry went in at the 2.8k mark and I continued on my run – 4k’s, easy.

Chelle and I were so proud of him – he was decked out in his skins, cap and gloves, although it wasn’t that cold this morning; maybe he was just warming up.

Hammers got off to a bad start – 0-3 to Aston Villa – Villa are a top 4/5 side so it’s no disgrace, although I think we beat them once last year.

About offthelongrun

Born in the UK in 1961 - I migrated to Australia in 1991. I've never been overweight, but I drink and eat too much and probably run too much nowadays!
This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Like father like son?

  1. Scarlett says:

    You should be so proud of him! He’s doing so much at such a young age. It’s great to see the family getting their kids involved in exercise every day, definitely something I want to strive for when I start my own family.

  2. We are! Just hope this becomes part of his adult life also.

Leave a Reply

