Sunrise and Jim Beam!

My training plan today is 10k. Been itching for this run for the past 4 weeks – it’s the longest run since the “Run Melbourne” 10k last month.

Set the alarm for 6:30am but woke at 6:10am. As I’m getting ready, I start feel a little anxious about the distance. I know I can do this easy and more but it’s like I need to make it a good one – heaven knows why.

The first kilometer I take real easy as I feel a bit sore in my legs ( should have warmed up more – sucked in by the mild morning) Hit my straps down Pascoe Vale Road- wish they’d rename it High Street, cos I’m sick of typing it out! and realise I have a nice breeze at my back. It’s not for another 3k’s that it hits me; I have about 4k’s of uphills with the breeze in my face. Damn that was hard.

Taking a couple of steps backward at around the 2k mark I encounter a couple lads who’d obviously been out all night and were taking further supplies home or to another party.

Luckily for me they are on the other side of the road and when they saw me they started singing the “Chariots of Fire” tune, although it took me a while to work what it was and that was after I took my earplug out!

They then proceeded to run with me at my pace for about 300m, obviously drunk with one holding a plastic bag with 3 large bottles of coke and the other with what looked like 6 x Jim Beam UDL’s and a bottle of Jim Beam. Fair effort boys for 6.45am!

The wind was a pain but I took in the sunrise this morning – red and blue skies – made me feel alive. Only saw 2 other runners this morning and both said “hi”, it’s funny but you prepare for this greeting as you run towards each other almost as a vocal secret handshake that only “runners” truly understand.

I knocked  32 seconds off my last 10k run (“Run Melbourne” was actually 10.22k and my 10k split was 54:17) I figure the only way to compare runs is to use the watch as the barometer. So really happy with my progress to date.

Ignore the best pace, I’m sure I lost a signal around that time when I ran close to the shops on Mt Alex Rd. 1.51 minute k’s is over 32kph and I may not be up to that speed just yet!

Or ever.

About offthelongrun

Born in the UK in 1961 - I migrated to Australia in 1991. I've never been overweight, but I drink and eat too much and probably run too much nowadays!
This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

