5k PB -Smashed!

I smashed my 5k PB by 40 seconds! that’s an 11% improvement in the last 8 days.

I knew it was a quicker run than usual, I didn’t dare look at the watch until around the 4.8k mark. Well, I lie; I had to check it at the 400m mark – I forget to change the lap marker from my interval distance(400m) to the normal 1k splits. I split my run over 2 sets of data so that I could record the exact time for the 5k – I actually completed 6.9k in 35 minutes, which also means I couldn’t maintain the 5.02 per k pace, but I’m still pleased with an overall pace of 5.11 per k. In truth I think I relaxed the intensity once I realised my new PB.

I guess that new pb was due in part to my mind thanking me for not going back on the treadmill after yesterday and my body for the leg massage I had this afternoon. Does everyone Else’s calves hurt like hell with a massage? or am I just a wimp? No need to answer that!

Got my bib from the Melbourne marathon people today (still waiting for Harry’s)- I’m in the first wave start which is a bit of a misnomer as I know there is an elite start, then a sub 37 mins followed by sub 39 mins and a sub 41 mins. I also note they want $50 for a singlet and $35 for T shirt – a bit rich when I got a great 2XU for $20 for the “Run Melbourne” gig. Mind you there were over extravagant with the safety pins – I got 5!

On a totally unrelated topic, some clown (Grantley Bernard – he works for the Herald Sun) here in Melbourne thinks that my beloved West ham Utd will finish seventeenth (17) this year in the EPL. That’s one spot above relegation and ensures nine months of stress if he is right – which he is not – I predict they will finish 15th, they’d have to finish above Stoke and Wigan.

About offthelongrun

Born in the UK in 1961 - I migrated to Australia in 1991. I've never been overweight, but I drink and eat too much and probably run too much nowadays!
This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 5k PB -Smashed!

  1. Andrew says:

    Congrats on the new pb!

    We are so having to meet up, we seem to have a few things in common. I’m a West Ham supporter too. Although I have admit not as fanatical as I was 15 years ago. This was proven a few years ago when I was in a lift in a Sydney hotel with a work colleague when a fit looking young bloke joined us and my colleague started talking to him about soccer etc. When he left us I asked who it was and my colleague said it was Lucas neill

  2. Lucas who? haha I know what you mean – I hardly recognise the players names anymore let alone their faces!

    Thanks – we have a few new players and a new manager, so I’m hoping for a half decent year.

  3. let’s meet up before MM for a run maybe – you’ll need a handicap to allow me to keep pace! Wouldn’t mind trying a run around Greenvale area – your call.

Leave a Reply

