Mini Triathlon!!

Well it should be micro triathlon!
Today Sam and I went to the gym – he to the creche (there’s one in the gym) and me to do 5k on the treadmill, then to the pool.

I ended up doing 6k on the treadmill (felt like 20k!) – a guy in there was pi55ing me off -he kept changing treadmills – running fastish (14-16kph at a guess) for 30 seconds then jumping on another one, reckon he used 4 different ones – what gives? I know I shouldn’t let that worry me, but I just think – what a wanker!

Anyway he left after about 25 minutes – I completed the 6k whilst watching (no sound as I had the Ipod) Denise Drysdale in a leotard with others on a treadmill! Man she has some serious pectorals! EDIT – my wife informs she’s had surgery for breast reduction – far out!!! they must have been huge.
Then went on the bike and set it to a hill program and covered 14k in about 20 minutes.

Picked up Sam from the creche and headed to the Pool. We played a bit – he completing his first ever 40 seconds of treading water without floaties and then did a pb: 50 seconds! I did 12 laps of a 25m pool for 300m of easy breaststroke – feel more comfortable with this as I can keep an eye on Sam on the sidelines.

So I covered all 3 disciplines, albeit at disproportionate distances! Was never the intention, it just turned out that way. Only another 2 or 3 days of this opportunity as I have found a job – well it found me – I start next Tuesday.

About offthelongrun

Born in the UK in 1961 - I migrated to Australia in 1991. I've never been overweight, but I drink and eat too much and probably run too much nowadays!
This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Mini Triathlon!!

  1. Andrew says:

    Congrats on the job! Don’t let it stop your exercise routine though. If you are anything like me, you’ll find the exercise is the stress release you need from the job!

  2. Thanks Andrew – The exercise is an every day part of my life nowadays – nothing will stop it!

  3. Scarlett says:

    Hey Alex,

    Dropping by since you saw my blog and decided to comment, thanks for visiting πŸ™‚ I’ve moved from Glenroy now out to Croydon! I’m very, very tired of moving so hoping I’m settling in for a while here. But the running tracks around here are wonderful- however Glenroy had it’s own bit of specialness to it. πŸ™‚

    Nice work on getting your triad completed, and congrats also to Sam! I’m sure he feels superproud for being able to go for 50 seconds πŸ˜€

  4. Thanks heaps Scarlett and well done also on your loss!

Leave a Reply

