Progress

Sometimes I am so wrapped up in the now/future, I miss the past.

Yesterday was my 35 minute easy run for the week and for a variety of reasons I could only do it prior to the boys swimming lessons at 8:30am.

I overslept and then tried to justify in my mind a day the following week I could swap it with. Problem being Chelle is in Sydney one day that precludes any training, so I thought I’d just go for the run anyway and cut it short.

I completed nearly 4k in around 21 minutes and ensured I’d be near home in time to change and get the boys to swimming.

It wasn’t until I got home that I felt that I’d cheated somehow – only 21 of 35minutes. It was then that I reflected on my previous training regime and found my tempo runs 6-10 weeks ago were virtually what I just did, except this was easy and the past I found difficult.

That’s progress! and so is this:

Chelle and Harry are in week 3 (of 11) of their c25k and they are meeting every challenge spot on – for time, speed and distance. In 3 weeks they’ve gone from running about 250m non stop to 700m in under 5 minutes , again without stopping and an added bonus – they’re enjoying it.  This week they have MWF – walk 5mins – Jog 5 mins at 7.8kph -walk 5 mins – then next week it increases to 7 minute jogs .

About offthelongrun

Born in the UK in 1961 - I migrated to Australia in 1991. I've never been overweight, but I drink and eat too much and probably run too much nowadays!
This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

