Dogged Run

Yesterday I ended up feeling a little under the weather and decided to swap my 35 minute for today which was my rest day.

Woke up this morning feeling even worse than yesterday and cursed myself. Throughout the day I loaded up on Lemsip and panadene forte. By the time Chelle got home from work I was ready for my run.

Thirty five minutes, no set distance or pace. 2.5k in I had my first real encounter with a dog.

A guy was getting out of his car with his Jack Russell as I approached and yep, you guessed it, the dog ran right into my path and started going off. I gave it a “gentle’ nudge with my runner, but it came back for more, so I gave it another “nudge” and he ran off. Its owner apologised as I ran off into the distance.

Took the wind out of my sails for a while and my heart rate seemed to jump up a couple of notches, just as I had a 2.5k up hill climb  – exactly what I didn’t need. I also need to make my runs on this route a bit later (6.35pm today) as there are too many roads and too many cars. I had to slow down or stop too often.

I did this exact run last week and clocked 6.5k in 35:35. Today I covered an extra 40 meters in 33 seconds less -not sure if I should read anything into this. Ran in my skins top for the first time tonight without bandaids and can report that I have no nipple rash at all, so they must work. Not so sure I could wear the skins in summer though, seemed pretty hot in my run.

Tomorrow is my long run for the week: 8k

About offthelongrun

Born in the UK in 1961 - I migrated to Australia in 1991. I've never been overweight, but I drink and eat too much and probably run too much nowadays!
This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

