Interval runs

Today (Tuesday) is my interval run and I’ve increased the hard run 400m from a multiple of 4 to 5. I got thinking after the 4th 400m that in a few weeks time I’d only be half way through my workout. It kind of depressed me as it is so hard; it’s short hard sprints for about 1:30 minutes and then a  recovery of 400m, but it’s really tough. I even managed to jog 200m of the recovery, so I guess I’m improving.

Splits – 1,3,5,7,& 9 were the sprints and 2,4,6,8,and 10 were the recoveries. 11 & 12 were just a gentle jog home. Overall I’m pretty happy with the consistency of my sprints – only a 10 second maximum difference between the fastest and slowest ones.

Tomorrow is a 5.6k run but I’m itching to run further, but I’m also conscious of not overdoing it. Saturday ramps up to 8k and the 5.6k is the least distance I cover from now until the race (10/10/10) – just love that number!

Today I bought myself  a compression top online in the hope of  negating the chaffed nipple issue. If it works I’ll get a couple more and save on bandaids!

Harry and Chelle’s run extends to 4 minutes tomorrow (from 3) with an average of 7.8kph pace. Chelle is finally realising the benefit of a slower pace and has found the last couple of runs a lot easier on her breathing.

About offthelongrun

Born in the UK in 1961 - I migrated to Australia in 1991. I've never been overweight, but I drink and eat too much and probably run too much nowadays!
This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

