Rain break!

I awoke yesterday morning at 6:30 to the sound of rain and contemplated doing my run later in the day. Problem was, in the afternoon we had the mother-in-law’s birthday to go to, so I thought, as it was my easy run for the week it wouldn’t hurt getting wet!

By the time I was ready to leave, the rain stopped! and didn’t restart again until was all but finished. How lucky’s that?

I must be a glutton for punishment as I incorporated the two steepest hills (Gaffney & Northumberland) in the area into my “easy run”. Again I ran out of steam halfway up them and ended up walking. Not only are they steep, but the route I took, made them less than 5 minutes apart. I’ll rethink that one for the future.

Today is my rest or cross training day -not sure if I’m going to go to the gym or not. Feel like a gentle run this evening, but I’ll see closer to the time.

Mid morning I acted as a pacemaker for Chelle and Harry as I’d noticed that they were running too fast. This is week 2 for them – 5 minute walk – 3 minute jog – 5 minute walk. The jogging component should be around 8 minute k pace, but they were travelling closer to six and saying that is was hard.

I didn’t turn out to be much of a pacemaker – we travelled at 6:33 minutes per k, but at least it was consistent! It’s quite hard running at a lot slower pace than usual as I’m used to running at a comfortable pace and that’s around 5:00  to 5:30 minute k’s.

Lastly – I can’t leave out Sam – he’s our 4 year old and it must appear to him that the all of our activities revolve around Harry – and if I was honest, they do! but that’s because of their ages, soon Sam will also be doing, tennis, boxing, running etc. Anyway this is Sam’s first run with me – he says he’s ready for a 10k run now!

About offthelongrun

Born in the UK in 1961 - I migrated to Australia in 1991. I've never been overweight, but I drink and eat too much and probably run too much nowadays!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

