Hills – They’re everywhere!

Well after declaring on Thursday that Friday was a rest day and I couldn’t do “Nothing” – I did precisely that- nothing.

This morning’s run (Saturday) is my long run for the week, but at this stage of the plan it’s still only 6.5k but ramps up to 8 and 10k in the next two weeks before maxing out at 13 in week 12. I set the alarm for 6:30am so that I could complete my run in time to take Harry to his tennis lesson.

It appears that I live in some kind of gully because no matter which way I run, I encounter either short very steep hills or long hills. I know that if I return home the hills (up and down) even themselves out, but I’d like to just run a few even routes occasionally. Will need to jump in my car I guess.

Today’s run was a classic example – the first 3km are all on a slight downhill (Pascoe Vale Road) and I don’t run this hard, I just try to maintain a good even pace. But the moment I hit Woodlands Street it’s all up hill until the end of Napier Street – that’s 2.5k all uphill, save for a small downhill at the crossroad  at Napier Park.

As I get into the longer runs, I’ll encounter this more often unless I either do laps closer to home (which is boring) or I drive to a flatter area. I guess it’s all part of gaining in the fitness area.

Again I still made good time: 5:28 minute k’s which is slightly under my target time for the “Run Melbourne” race, so it’s probably an improvement if I take into account the hills.  All my tempo runs from week three are all 40 minutes, so I’ll wait for a few weeks and then run the same route as this morning and see if there is any improvement.

Tomorrow’s my easy run for the week – 30 minutes  – Gaffney Street hill is on the agenda!

About offthelongrun

Born in the UK in 1961 - I migrated to Australia in 1991. I've never been overweight, but I drink and eat too much and probably run too much nowadays!
This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

