New shoes

Lashed out today on a new pair of runners: Brooks Trance 9’s – my existing pair of Trance’s have about 200k on them so I thought I’d start breaking in another pair and they were about $50 cheaper than most stores. I got them at Sims in Moonee Ponds. I love these runners, they fit me like a glove; they’re the only runners I can put on and feel they are made for my foot. I’ve tried on Asics, Mizuno and have discounted the rest but nothing comes close to the Trance’s, even other Brooks runners, so I guess I’ll stick with the tried and tested.

Had a nice run this morning (5k in 26mins) – how cold is it at 6.30 am? I’m wearing gloves and a beanie on my runs. Tomorrow is my tempo run and my weekly attempt at the Gaffney Street hill. I figure it has to be easier than the intervals I did on Tuesday.

Looking forward, my training plan goes north pretty quickly and today was the last of a 5k run and my long run on each Saturday goes to 8k then 10k in the next two weeks. Also the intervals increase to 5x then 6x. I’ve decided to do the intervals on the road instead of the ovals as I need some form of distraction whilst I’m running hard.

Michelle and Harry have completed their 2nd walk/run/walk for the week and are progressing slowly – as is the plan. Friday sees an increase in the run part from 2 minutes to three. Their pace and distance is spot on.

About offthelongrun

Born in the UK in 1961 - I migrated to Australia in 1991. I've never been overweight, but I drink and eat too much and probably run too much nowadays!
This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

