1st Interval workout

As part of my new training plan to reduce my 10k time, it stipulates a weekly (Tuesdays only) Interval workout:

This weeks: 4 x 400m  – ran hard with a 400m walk jog between each one.

I can jog all day on 5:30/6:00 minute k’s, but as I ran my first 400m today at around 3:40/4:00min k pace and slowing towards the end, I thought to myself; “How the hell do the sub 40 minute runners keep this pace up for 10k?” I was gasping like  I only had one lung and grateful that the plan said to only walk or jog the interval – I took the former!

This better be doing me good because it sure ain’t fun!

About offthelongrun

Born in the UK in 1961 - I migrated to Australia in 1991. I've never been overweight, but I drink and eat too much and probably run too much nowadays!
This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 1st Interval workout

  1. Andrew(AJH) says:

    I hate intervals, and therefore rarely do them.

    I’ve tackled the Gaffney St hill quite a few times on my bike, it is tough to get up on a bike, never tackled it running. If I’m feeling energetic, I’ll divert of the Moonee Ponds Creek Trail and ride up and down a couple of times.

    I haven’t really used DocsToGo enough to really comment on it’s usability yet!

  2. How far from Gaffney Street do you live?

Leave a Reply

