Melbourne Marathon – 10th October 2010

A couple of days to contemplate my running regime and have set myself a few goals:

Run under 50 minutes for 10k before I’m 50 – September 2011
Complete a half marathon before I’m 50 – looking at the “Run Melbourne ” one next July
Run a race over 5k with Harry and Michelle
Coach Michelle and Harry to a sub 30 minute 5k

Today was a rest day, but I still managed to enter the Melbourne marathon 10k in October. Add to that, I also entered Harry into the kids 2.5k run- he’s going to be stoked when he wakes up tomorrow morning!

All with a timing chip, bib, medal, T shirt, website results and a goody bag – and best of all the finish line is ON the MCG!!! how cool is that? His bib number is: 35093

Luckily the races are hours apart, mine is at 7:30am and his at 11:30am, which is great as I’ll be able to cheer him on. Guess I better invite his grandparents.

Also looking at the Princes Park 10k on 1st August, but haven’t yet nominated .

Got my official race time today and I guess my Garmin is pretty accurate as I was 2 seconds out – could have been a delay in my hit the start/stop button – I still maintain we ran 10.22k though:

About offthelongrun

Born in the UK in 1961 - I migrated to Australia in 1991. I've never been overweight, but I drink and eat too much and probably run too much nowadays!
This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Melbourne Marathon – 10th October 2010

  1. ajh says:

    Thanks for your comment on my blog, always nice to get comments from someone new, but especially so from someone who lives so close!Love your 10k under 50 goal – I've decided that from next year on I'm going to have a "10k under my age in minutes goal"- I'm currently 51. Love the way you are getting your family involved too something I've not managed do.

  2. Alexkyp says:

    Hi ajh,Thanks for your reply. Try the training plan for your family in my blog: My 1st 10k run – the day after – it's very easy to begin with – almost fast walking at 7.5kph and that for only 2-3 minutes for the 1st few weeks.

Leave a Reply

